Snoop Lion’s talking about “No Guns Allowed” on his latest track, featuring Drake

Evolution, in the simplest of definition is about – change. A change, where one human evolve into the next phase of his own self, version 2.0 if you will. The whole process is somewhat called, an evolution. And, we all humans are susceptible to go through this phase, sooner or later. I guess, for Snoop Dogg .. this was a calling for an evolution and hence he now calls himself or should we say has evolved into a much better, version 2.0 of Snoop Dogg aka, Snoop Lion!

Hey, I have been a fan of this dude since I was a little kid. So, I have got nothing but admiration and utmost respect for the dude. And, I think, I am kinda feeling, liking his new avatar.  Cause, sooner or later everybody gets bored of doing the same thing, over and over again.  Perhaps, it was time for Snoop to move into the next phase of his career. At least, he still is capable of doing something different and bringing a breathe of fresh air to the already crowded industry of everyday rappers/artists.

I welcome this new version of Snoop with both arms wide open, to be very honest. There are hardly any artists left in the industry who are doing things for a cause, a reason far beyond a mere monetary, sales motives.

Also, i see a whole new side of snoop. From the regular, usual rap shit, he is talking some sense here. On this new track titled “No Guns Allowed” , snoop wanna talk about peace. Where the chorus goes, “No guns allowed in here tonight, we’re gonna have a free-for-all, no fight.” This single also features a guest appearance from none other than Drake and Snoop’s daughter “Cori. B”.

In an interview with AP, Snoop said –

“To me, the Lion is the growth of Snoop Dogg,” Snoop told the AP. “Me growing into the next phase of my musical career, the next phase of my life. But at the same time, I can never get rid of who I am. I’m an East Side Long Beach Rollin 20s Crip, first and foremost. … I’m Snoop Doggy Dogg, then I’m Snoop Dogg, then I’m Snoop Lion. But it’s all the same.”

Speaking about his new sound, Snoop Lion added, “To me it’s not about record sales, so I believe I’m going to do it whenever I want to. So I’m not doing this to create financial gain or money. So it’s fun. So anytime it’s fun, it’s to be done over and over again. Just like with rapping. Rapping had got not-fun to me because 20 years of doing it and being on top.”

Which makes a lot of sense.  Well, whatever the case is, this new track is going to make an appearance on his upcoming album titled “Reincarnated“. Major Lazer and Ariel Rechtshaid, to blame for some off the hook board skills on this one. Remember, “Reincarnated” hitting the stores all around on April, 23rd 2013. Pre-order your copy, NOW. Also, catch a preview of the track down below :

Leave a Reply

